Are there any teaching jobs out there?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by littleredhen, May 19, 2011.

1. littleredhen

littleredhen New Member

May 19, 2011

Hi everyone! I am a first-year student trying to decide whether to continue to pursue a post-bacc in elementary education. I would specifically like to teach language arts to 5th or 6th graders (probably in a charter school). I know that will probably be a hard job to find. I actually have a bachelor's degree in theater, but I think trying to find a job as a drama teacher would be even harder! I am in Arizona, where the education system isn't so great. We've had budget cuts and lots of teachers were let go. But I am willing to relocate. I'm hearing conflicting information about jobs for teachers. Some say there aren't any, while others say there will always be a need for them. I'm not young, and I have two kids to support. If there aren't any jobs, I can't afford to spend more money on classes. Does anyone know what the outlook is for employment? Thanks so much for any advice!

3. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

May 19, 2011

Is 5th grade middle school in AZ? I've only seen one school system (it was a charter) that considered 5th middle school and had a separate Language Arts teacher. 5th grade is usually elementary, meaning the teacher would teach all subjects, and 6th grade is sometimes elementary too, in my area.

I'm in California, which is arguably one of the worst states for finding teaching jobs, especially in my area (southern CA). And yet, there are still jobs opening, there are still interviews occurring, and there are still teachers being hired. I'm sure they are getting hundreds or even thousands of applicants for each job, but the jobs do exist. I've seen many jobs in rural areas, especially. I think if you're flexible about grade level, school, and location, and if you get as much experience in the meantime as you can, you are more likely to find a job.