Are student evaluations a good idea?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by orangetea, Apr 2, 2012.

1. orangetea

orangetea Connoisseur

Apr 2, 2012

I was thinking about giving my students a questionnaire about my class and what they enjoyed/didn't enjoy at the end of the year. I'm a new teacher, so I am looking for all the feedback I can get.

Does anyone else do this? None of my colleagues seem to ask for student feedback, so I'm a little apprehensive about the idea.

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Apr 2, 2012

I do something like this. I ask my students to write me a letter. It's very basic. I ask students to write to my future students. They write down things they enjoyed, things that they wish were different, and advice that they have for next year's students.

4. gemgirlxoxo

gemgirlxoxo Rookie

Apr 2, 2012

I'm not an experienced teacher, but I think it's a good idea. I would just suggest giving it to students during class (probably at the beggining) because if it's for homework they may not want to be bothered with it or put much thought into it.

5. Gareth

Gareth Rookie

Apr 2, 2012

I think this is a good idea, you might be surprised about what they remember. This might give you a bit of insight into what the students responded to the best. Chances are that what they remember the most is what they would have learnt a lot from.

6. bison

bison Habitué

Apr 2, 2012

I think it's a great idea as long as you have a thick skin. Students tend to be really harsh when giving feedback. It might provide you with some valuable information for next year though.

7. orangetea

orangetea Connoisseur

Apr 2, 2012

Yeah, this is what I'm worried about. I'm pretty sensitive and tend to take a lot of things to heart, so I'm worried if some comments might be very harsh or rude.
    But I think I'll risk it if there's a chance that it'll help for next year.

8. bison

bison Habitué

Apr 2, 2012