Are Art teachers in demand for k-12? Please view!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by cutieturtle07, Jun 19, 2010.

1. cutieturtle07

cutieturtle07 Rookie

Jun 19, 2010

Hi. I am currently a student at a four year University and my current major is a BFA in Computer Animation. I love computer arts. I have two more years left and I have been thinking about changing my major to studio arts with an education minor so that I can teach. I want to teach just as much as I want a career in computer animation, but computer animation is hard to break into for starters, you do not need a degree for that field (just a demo reel and portfolio), and I'm worried about job security. When I first transferred to this school my major was English because I wanted to teach at a secondary level. Then I realized that they had computer animation as a major which was my major for about 5 years but changed it because I could not afford to go to an art school and it is rare at public universities. So I basically want to know if art teachers are in demand. Because if they are not in demand, then I will not change my major if my job outlook is the same. I also plan on getting my masters strait away in Art History because my dream job is to teach at a community college. Thank you for your responses!

3. FourSquare

FourSquare Fanatic

Jun 19, 2010

No. There's usually only one art teacher per school....and sometimes that teacher is shared by 2 or 3 schools. I think if you don't want to teach it as a career, the certification and extra classes are not worth the time and money. All kinds of teachers are being laid off across the country.

Just being honest.

4. Mrs. K.

Mrs. K. Enthusiast

Jun 19, 2010