Applying for TA position?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by mommyre, Aug 14, 2011.

1. mommyre

mommyre Comrade

Aug 14, 2011

I hold my master's in SPED and BA in Elementary. I can't seem to find a job. My MA program did not require a practicum so I feel that I do not have enough experience in SPED, and thought about applying for a TA position. I am however a single mom and need as much pay as possible and TA's just don't get paid much; they do make more than I do on unemployment though. So, if I apply for TA positions and get one of those how likely would it be that I would be pigeonholed as a TA? I want more experience, but don't wanna be stuck. Should I apply for a retail type job and volunteer on days off? What would be my best action now? I need to eat, but wanna work in a school and expand my knowledge. I am torn.

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 14, 2011

I don't have a public school background.

But I say work in a school, in any capacity you're able to. You'll get valuable experience and make valuable contacts... and I suspect you won't be the only one doing so.

When the economy improves, you'll be able to apply (to that district and to others) with a much broader experience base than you have right now.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 14, 2011

Great advice, Alice!:)

5. LMichele

LMichele Cohort

Aug 14, 2011

Make sure being a TA counts toward your certification. I know that in NY I have 5 years to get 3 years of teaching in. Subbing counts, but being a TA here does not. I had to give up many interviews and job offers this year that would have led to more money & benefits, but would have caused me to lose a year of "teaching experience".

6. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 14, 2011

Oh, excellent point!!

7. LMichele

LMichele Cohort

Aug 14, 2011