Applying for new schools...who to use as a reference?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by hiheythere!, Apr 9, 2017.

1. hiheythere!

hiheythere! New Member

Apr 9, 2017

Hey guys,

I was hoping some of you veteran teachers could help me out with this one. I've been teaching in the same school for the past 5 years and i'm considering switching to somewhere new next year. However, I completely forgot about the whole references part of the job application process. Does anybody have any advice on who I should use for this? Obviously I don't want to use anybody from my current administration because that just seems like a dangerous thing.

Also, for anybody who has been on the other side of the job process: are references an important part of hiring? Do administrators really look at them and contact them?

Thanks a-lot for all of your help!

3. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Apr 9, 2017

References are definitely important. Most places will require a reference from your current administration. You could ask teachers who work with you, and supply those first.

4. Committed2DaProfession

Committed2DaProfession Rookie

Apr 9, 2017

Keep in mind that most schools won't proceed until they have talked to your principal so there's really no way to get around that...trust me. And yes, references are really important. It's best to find experienced colleagues, who work in the same building and/or have a good rep in the district. Also, make sure that people you choose as your references are actually giving you good references...especially administrators. It sounds obvious but , trust me, you'll want to watch this. I hope this helps.

5. Apr 9, 2017