Applying for Jobs Overseas

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by cnc, Jul 17, 2010.

1. cnc

cnc Rookie

Jul 17, 2010

I graduated with a degree in secondary education this past May, and have not had any luck in finding a full-time teaching job for the upcoming school year (my area is apparently one of the worst in the country for teaching jobs right now). As a result of this, I am considering teaching overseas in 2011. I am hoping to at least get a substituting job for this school year while continuing to work at my current job (not in the field of education) in order to save money and consider my options for teaching overseas. However, I want to start my research as soon as possible, so any advice regarding this would be much appreciated.

I have been looking around the DoDEA site, but all I can find about application deadlines is to "apply by early January." I understand that it is still early to be applying for the next school year, but when I should begin to work on the application? Also, where should I go to begin researching international schools? Are there any other websites for teaching overseas that would be beneficial to me?

Thanks so much in advance!

3. AhoyHoy

AhoyHoy Rookie

Jul 17, 2010

I don't have any tips, but I'll be keeping an eye on this, too.

4. brejohnson88

brejohnson88 Comrade

Jul 17, 2010

I would look into the military websites. They always need teachers to go overseas and you would teach on a US base then (much safer). Good luck!

5. Kangaroo22

Kangaroo22 Virtuoso

Jul 17, 2010

Here is a thread about a teacher here got a job in the middle east. Good luck!

6. cnc

cnc Rookie

Jul 18, 2010

Thanks so much! I looked at the military websites- to get a teaching job with any of the branches, I'd have to go through DoDEA anyway (Department of Defense Education Activity). I hear it's very competitive to get a job with DoDEA, but I will try my best.