Apply even though I am employed?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by GGarcia, Oct 29, 2013.

1. GGarcia

GGarcia Rookie

Oct 29, 2013

It is my first year teaching and I was happy to find any kind of job. Currently, I am working 50% in a high school about an hour from my house. I enjoy the work, but the commute is difficult and I am barely making enough to get by, even with my other part-time retail job.

Now, a job right in the town where I live opened (just today!). It's 100% so I would even get benefits, which I don't get now. Is it silly to apply? I can't find anything in my current district's contract about resignations. Would they allow me to leave if I was offered the position?

Thank you for any advice.

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Oct 29, 2013

Are you on good terms with the administration? If so, just come out and ask them what you should do. Many districts do have reasonable "opt-out" clauses for situations like yours.

4. GGarcia

GGarcia Rookie

Oct 30, 2013

Thank you for your advice. I think I will apply and see if I get an interview. I feel guilty for even thinking of changing schools during the year, but this is a job where I could stay until retirement.

5. DHE

DHE Connoisseur

Oct 31, 2013

I would definitely apply.

6. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Oct 31, 2013

Apply. Your current school will understand.

7. mrachelle87

mrachelle87 Fanatic

Oct 31, 2013

I say apply. While most of the time I believe you honor the contract in a case of fulltime over half time employment, I say do what is best for your family.

8. ktmiller222

ktmiller222 Cohort

Nov 1, 2013

Apply! =)
    Good luck!

9. TeacherNY

TeacherNY Maven

Nov 2, 2013

I would apply. Nobody would blame you for taking a full time job over a 50% job. Good luck!!

10. GGarcia

GGarcia Rookie

Nov 14, 2013