AP US History Writing Activities

Discussion in 'High School' started by megawinn, Sep 21, 2010.

1. megawinn

megawinn Rookie

Sep 21, 2010

I am teaching APUSH and want to help my students prepare for the DBQ section of the AP exam. I am a first year teacher and most of my experience with AP comes from taking the test myself. Does anyone have some advice for me to help the students feel confident and ready for this portion?

Thanks!!! :)

3. INteacher

INteacher Aficionado

Sep 21, 2010

YES - write LOTS of DBQ's. First semester my students probably write about 12 DBQ's. By second semester, we write about 10 DBQ's timed in class.

Have you printed off the released DBQ"s and FRQ's from the College Board website? If not, I think you should. I give my students only previous APUSH released DBQ's so they get the real deal from the very beginning. Also, I used the examples posted there as for my students as a classroom activity. They are given the student examples, highlight thesis sentences, count up docs used, highlight good vocab, highlight outside info and finally give the essay a grade. This is a great activity for students to see what a "8" looks like and to compare their writing. I also do peer editing with my students.

The DBQ is one thing you can truly prepare you students for. With the first DBQ, I tell my students to focus on a writing a great thesis statement, using the majority plus one of the docs and providing outside information at least once in each paragraph. With each progressive DBQ, I require more and grade harder. By the time we get to December, they can just about write them in their sleep :)

You have to practice using the documents and using the documents as evidence. They need to know the DBQ is not a laundry list of facts.

4. Soccer Dad

Soccer Dad Cohort

Sep 21, 2010