Anyone using Go Math?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by heavens54, Feb 28, 2014.

1. heavens54

heavens54 Connoisseur

Feb 28, 2014

And do you like it? User friendly?

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Feb 28, 2014

I have been using it for several years.

Pros: Lots of intervention material
    SmartBoard lessons and video lessons
    Lots of test prep and student practice

Cons: Uses too many strategies to teach concepts
    Lessons are often a little too long to fit into one day

Overall, I have enjoyed using it more than some math programs we have had over the years.

4. MsMar

MsMar Fanatic

Feb 28, 2014

I agree with everything swansong said. It's our first year using it. I hated it at first and found it overwhelming. Now that it's been a while I'm more used to it and overall like it. It's REALLY hard to cover a section in the 70 minutes we have for math. It has a nice focus on word problems which is good, but 90% of the homework isn't word problems and that's annoying since 100% of the test is word problems. I wish the homework was closer in style and appearance to the tests. At least that's my experience in 5th grade, not sure if it's 100% word problem tests in the younger grades.

5. Major

Major Connoisseur

Feb 28, 2014

I have a double major: Math and Geology (plus an MS in Geology). I have no idea what "Go Math" is......... Maybe world has passed me by...... :lol:

6. heavens54

heavens54 Connoisseur

Mar 1, 2014

It's Houghton Mifflin's math curriculum for K to 8.

7. AlexaD

AlexaD Companion

Mar 1, 2014

Yes, I am using it in my first year. I agree it is a lot to cover in one lesson. We only have 60 minutes. I do like it in that it is engaging for the kids. I also agree that sometimes there are too many strategies presented, which can be confusing.

Any tips or tricks that others would be willing to share about how they present their math lessons using this program?

8. queenie

queenie Groupie

Mar 3, 2014