Anyone use Journeys or Go Math?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by princessbloom, Aug 29, 2013.

1. princessbloom

princessbloom Comrade

Aug 29, 2013

EDITED:::: I really thought I posted this in Elementary Education. I meant to at least! I'm sorry everyone!

These are new for us this year and everyone in my school is trying to figure out how to use both series' to get the best out of them.

I'm interested in getting a "walk through" of how you implement them, particularly, math. I'm interested in doing math centers with my kids but am struggling to get started because I'm still learning the curriculum and am not quite comfortable with it.
    I don't really like the games that come with it, but I do like the little readers.

Do you do rotations?
    How do you group your students, and according to what?
    How long do the students have to work in centers?
    How long is your whole group?
    What do they do during centers? (independently, with you).

The book has a lot to offer, but it's overwhelming and a lot more than I think I'd ever get to. We have a "Math coach" and I've tried to ask but haven't gotten any help in trying to figure this out!

We have about 80 minutes for math.

Thanks!

3. kellzy

kellzy Comrade

Aug 30, 2013

We've used Go Math for a year.
    Most of it I really like, but there are a few lessons that we spent hours debating in team meetings about what they were talking about and what they were trying to get the kids to do. Some of the ideas presented in the books are frustrating and I'm not even approaching the this year.

My math block would make someone with a type A personality have a heart attack. I don't have a set amount of time that my whole group lasts. We keep going until I feel that most of my children are comfortable with the concept. It usually takes between 25-35 minutes.