Anyone tried 123 Magic?(Woo--a bit wordy, sorry!)

Discussion in 'Behavior Management Archives' started by maggiedoodle, Apr 21, 2006.

1. maggiedoodle

maggiedoodle Rookie

Apr 21, 2006

Hello! As a relatively new teacher, I need some advice! I am a special education teacher (grades K-2) with a mixture of some self-contained students and some resource students. It's been a GREAT year...We haven't had a single serious behavior problem. With the one group who does get 'silly', I keep a tally of the times they are not following directions. We count the tallies at lunch & the end-of-day, and for each group of 5 marks, they owe 5 minutes of recess/free time. They really have done well, and the time is now hardly ever taken away!
    Ok, now I'm getting a new student who was on the "card' plan in her previous school. They feel pretty strongly that she needs a very structured plan, so I'm trying to implement one. I'm not a fan of the "cards"...for many reasons. I'm thinking of trying the 123 magic plan where there are two warnings, then a time out. I'm planning on using a stoplight visual aid. I will obviously need to do it for the whole class, as I don't want her to stand out anymore than she does. We're coming back from vacation, so it seems like a reasonable time to start. However, we don't change a lot of things in the classroom, and for this group, consistency might be the key to their success.
    So after all that, I guess I have 2 questions:
    I'm just wondering if anybody else has ever tried this approach in a classroom, and what your feelings were?

Also, has anybody switched behavior plans so late in the year? Any tips on making it smooth? I'm hoping it just kind of fades into the background since behavior hasn't been an issue, but I want it to be useful for the new little one.

Wow-if you're still with me after all that, you deserve a medal! Thanks in advance for any tips!

3. JenPooh

JenPooh Virtuoso

Apr 21, 2006