ANYONE teaching in Ohio??

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by dizzybri14, Oct 15, 2007.

1. dizzybri14

dizzybri14 Companion

Oct 15, 2007

I am trying to find out any "inside information" to finding a job in Ohio. I am cert. preK-3 in Ohio. I have been trying to find a job since I graduated June of 06, and was unable to find anything. After waiting for awhile for a job in Ohio I moved to NC and found a job right away. I am still hoping to move back to OH after this school year. I don't know what I need to do to "Stand Out". Any advice?

3. buck8teacher

buck8teacher Devotee

Oct 15, 2007

I am a teacher in Ohio. I was lucky though to student teach at a school in my home district. I was then offered a long term sub. Then a contract position came open, and I was offered the position. Sadly, it's a lot of who you know. I was lucky enough to make good contacts during student teaching, so I could get my LTS position. It's a very very tight market. A girl I went to high school with has subbed for four years and hasn't been offered a job. Hopefully your experience will help you stand out!

4. heatherleigh

heatherleigh Companion

Oct 15, 2007

i'm currently subbing in OH. i graduated in '05 moved to VA to teach for a year and then moved back to OH when my fiance got out of the navy. i thought having a little experience might help since i didn't find anything right after graduation but NOPE. i taught preschool in a childcare setting in columbus last year and have been subbing after moving to the cleveland area when my fiance took a new job late in the summer. unfortunately
    buck8teacher is right... it's mostly about who you know or just getting lucky. there are literally hundreds (in some cases thousands for our area... prek-3) of applicants for jobs in some areas of OH... i meet 'unemployed' teachers all the time. i'm hoping things start changing soon though. i would say start searching early and try to rely on any connections you have... good luck!!!

5. glenn