Anyone stutter...advice needed!

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by Teacherella, Jul 15, 2006.

1. Teacherella

Teacherella Habitué

Jul 15, 2006

I am a graduate student pursuing a MAT in Elem. Ed. Throughout my life, I have mildly stuttered. My stuttering does not consist of saying m-m-m-mom, for example. But, it's called "blocking". I have longer pauses than usually or say 'um' or 'uh' to fill those pauses.

I am am very confident in my ability to teach and once I get in front of the classroom, my stuttering/blocking almost disappears. It's when I have to do presentations in front of my classmates that I get nervous. I'm petrified to student teach and get observed (even though it's a year away). I don't want anyone to think I'm not intelligent or overly nervous. It's just that some words get stuck when my neck and vocal cord muscles tighten up. Do you think this is something I should tell the person who is observing me before hand? He or she would be from the college I attend, not from the school district I'm student teaching in (I think). I just don't want them to give me lower points on my presentation because of it. What do you think?

Also, I'm looking into the possibility that I might have spasmodic dysphonia (tension in the vocal cord muscles, which cause a strain on your voice and makes you have many pauses), which sounds more like my symptoms in comparison to stuttering. I'm going to a speech therapist soon to get evaluated. Thanks!

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jul 15, 2006

Have you had speech therapy in the past?

Yes, I would mention the kinds of speech pattern they might notice - unapologetically. Merely inform them then go about your interview/lesson whatever it is. At some point you could let them know how this benefits your teaching with compassion for those with disabilities, a message to teach your students about differences and acceptance.

I always think I speak too fast in the classroom. More slowly can be an asset.