Anyone in Tri-State?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by chosen teacher, Mar 5, 2008.

1. chosen teacher

chosen teacher Rookie

Mar 5, 2008

I've been teaching K in CA for 2 years. This summer I'm moving back to Eastcoast due to family situation. If you teach in Tri-State (NY, NJ and CT), can you offer an advice or tip how job market is? Thanks!

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Mar 6, 2008

I'm not sure about NY or CT, but a lot of teachers on this board have said that NJ is a really tough market to get into. Good luck!

4. BioAngel

BioAngel Science Teacher - Grades 3-6

Mar 6, 2008

I live in NJ--- public schools are sorta difficult to get into since we have alot of teachers here--- depends on what subject too, science and math are always needed. But it also helps if you have the right connections and get recommendations from those who already teach in the area.

I'm trying to find a job in the private school sector first, get the experience and my Masters, and then see I want to try going to a public district.

NY could be the same way--- Long Island is difficult to get on to, Staten Island in spots is hard, NYC would take you in a heart beat though, but good luck surviving that.

5. ChriCres

ChriCres Rookie

Mar 7, 2008

I live in NY about an hour from NYC. I graduated in May 07 with my Masters in Elementary Education. From I want to say Dec. 06up until now I have sent out at least 15 applications/resumes and did not get one call. It's hard. I think BioAngel is right you have to know someone and I don't know anyone. Good Luck!

6. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Mar 7, 2008

I live in the burbs of NY. Jobs are not available. subbing however is .

Anyway.... most of my friends who are secondary have an easier time landing a job.

the best advice I can give you is to continuosly send resumes. 15 is hardly enough.... at least where I am. Don't give up. I graduated in '94 and I'm still looking.

7. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Mar 7, 2008