Anyone here got a job by alternate route certification??

Discussion in 'General Education' started by thesub, Jan 23, 2009.

1. thesub

thesub Comrade

Jan 23, 2009

I should be getting a CE in elem. ed soon but I am full of doubts whether this will do me any good and I am very nervous. Does anyone in New Jersey hire alt. route candidates? I know the school districts are bound legally to hire alt. route and would like hear some positive hiring stories, if there are any!

Actually I want to teach elementary-level ESL and the CE is only the first step. Any teachers here ESL-certified via the alternate route?

Thanks so much!

3. cheeryteacher

cheeryteacher Enthusiast

Jan 23, 2009

I know quite a few teachers who have gone the alt. route, so it's not impossible. But the job market is tough right now so I don't know how likely anyone is to get hired.

4. Missy99

Missy99 Connoisseur

Jan 23, 2009

There are numerous ACP folks on this forum.

I am an ACP bilingual ed teacher, which means I am qualified to teach in a bilingual classroom, an ESL classroom or a regular classroom. That sure opened the market quite a bit for me.

Alternative certification has served me well -- I was hired a few months after I completed my in-class courses.

I have no idea what the situation is like in New Jersey.

Good luck!

5. thesub

thesub Comrade

Jan 23, 2009

ooooo-do you have any suggestions on getting hired? NJ seems to be flooded with new candidates who have done the traditional route. How will I get an advantage over them? I am an older candidate and will not take maternity leave etc etc.

What is a bi-lingual classroom? Do you teach Spanish also?

Once I take the ESL tests (OPI and written), do I do the alternate route- stage I and then send out resumes???

Thanks so much for any advice

6. Missy99

Missy99 Connoisseur

Jan 23, 2009

You are welcome.

7. thesub

thesub Comrade

Jan 23, 2009

But I thought you needed a contract before you did the 2nd stage of alternate route.