Anyone ever Skype or Facetime and Interview?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by vateacher757, Jul 22, 2014.

1. vateacher757

vateacher757 Cohort

Jul 22, 2014

Help!!!

I've never done it before and since we will be on vacation during the interview time they are willing to Skype or Facetime it...please assist.

How do you set it up?
    How did you dress and/or prepare?
    How was it?

TIA.

3. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Jul 22, 2014

I've done both.
    Skype:The district sent me all the information ahead of time and required a test the day before.
    I actually did it during my planning period from school (I was out of state.). I was dressed in dressy school clothes.
    There was an error- my phone stuck on me so I couLdnt see them. They had no issues. It was very distracting to stare at yourself during the interview. I kept seeing a hair out of place and fidgeting. I didn't get the job :lol:

FaceTime:
    They had issues so they had to just call me after a few attempts. I was at home but put on a dressy shirt.

Even though my experiences were not great, I know several people who have had successful interviews that way.

4. vateacher300

vateacher300 Rookie

Jul 22, 2014

I once had two interviews with a private Christian school via Skype. Used my laptop and sat at my desk in my home office. I dressed like I was going to an in-person interview to get in the right mindset for it. Nice thing about Skype interviews is that you can keep a notepad nearby with your talking points and sneak a glance in every now and then!

Skype interviews definitely have their own vibe just like phone and in-person interviews do. Sometimes the echo of your voice can be annoying, but you just have to block it out! I thought mine went smoothly, but I lost out to a local candidate in the end. It's alright, I'm happy where I landed!

5. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Jul 22, 2014