anyone else feel like they're wasting their time?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by tb71, Jul 8, 2009.

1. tb71

tb71 Cohort

Jul 8, 2009

I know I am new to this, but wow! I have filled out so many apps (as I know a lot of you all have too), sent so many e-mails and faxes that I'm beginning to feel like I am just wasting my time and should just stop and wait for the clinical teaching to start in August. I have never had such a hard time getting a job and just amazed at the application process for teachers.
    **I definitely think there is a market to offer a service that completes apps, sends faxes, resumes and follow ups. I know I'm to the point that I would consider paying someone else to do this part.
    **Thanks for letting me vent (seems there is a lot of venting going on lately;)).

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Jul 8, 2009

tb~that was my thinking last year...that I should have opened up a consulting firm for job seekers.

4. darlibby

darlibby Companion

Jul 8, 2009

Yes, I definitely feel like I'm wasting my time.

5. mego65

mego65 Comrade

Jul 8, 2009

Yep, pretty frustrating.

6. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Jul 8, 2009

I remember back in late 80's. The job market was pure crap. I had just finished a Ph.D. fellowship and had decided to I needed to get out of academia and get back into the work force. I sent out over 1,000 applications (and that was without a computer -- I used a typewriter!) It all seemed so futile. I ended up taking a receptionist job just to keep food on the table, until the market got better and I got back into an administrative position.

As my grandmother always said "This too shall pass."

Hang in there and do what you have to until it gets better. This isn't the first time we've had high unemployment and it won't be the last time. You can't let it defeat you.

And really, what is the alternative? If you do nothing, you certainly won't get that job.

Hang in there. It will get better.

7. katrinkakat