Anyone do "The Daily Five?"

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by adellesmama, Jul 25, 2007.

1. adellesmama

adellesmama Companion

Jul 25, 2007

Hi everybody! :)

I am a first-year teacher and was wondering if anyone uses The Daily Five literacy/writing program in their classroom...and if so, does it work well for you, do you like it better than what you did before, do the kids enjoy it? etc. etc.

I just started reading the book and I'm trying to decide if I should attempt to implement it in my room.

:thanks:

3. teachingmomof4

teachingmomof4 Groupie

Jul 25, 2007

I finished the book this summer and am really excited to implement it in my room. I went to a workshop of "the sisters" a few years ago and really enjoyed it. They are really knowledgeable. However, I didn't really try it back then; I just don't know if I felt comfortable enough to try something that big. However, I plan on doing it this year. If you do it as they say, I can't see how it could go wrong. Lost of modeling and practice. Kids need that.

4. knittingbec

knittingbec Comrade

Jul 26, 2007

I'm using the Daily 5 this year! I attended a study group/trial implementation last year and loved it! I'm excited to use it this year.
    My students seemed to enjoy it, and I loved not having to plan out a bunch of centers.
    Some teachers that were in the study group are waiting until October to start, but several others (including me!) are starting in the first week of school.

5. mrs100

mrs100 Comrade

Jul 31, 2007

I started using the Daily 5 last year and I love, love, love it! I followed the book pretty closely, and did everything about the same way they said to, and the kids loved it. They loved being able to choose their activities, having their own bin, and working independently. I'm absolutely using it again. It's catching on rather quickly at my school, and even the Kindergarten teachers are using it!

6. teachingmomof4

teachingmomof4 Groupie

Jul 31, 2007