anybody coach?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by sizzla_222, Nov 1, 2012.

1. sizzla_222

sizzla_222 Companion

Nov 1, 2012

does anybody coach or run an after school club? Do you get paid extra or do you just do it volunteer?

I am a third grade teacher and I am also a basketball coach at a local college. (the same college that I played for in college)

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Nov 1, 2012

I spent 18 years coaching our Speech and Debate teams.

I'm now moderator of the National Honor Society.

Both positions have paid a stipend.

4. sizzla_222

sizzla_222 Companion

Nov 1, 2012

Alice that is really cool. i wouldnt have a clue how to run a debate team. is this at the high school level?

5. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

Nov 1, 2012

I get paid a small stipend for drama. I volunteered to do PSAT prep, and to start a DI team if there's any interest. The stipend is incredibly small for drama, and if you divide it up to only the hours spent rehearsing, it comes to less than $2.00 an hour, and that's not including meetings, fund raisers, time prepping for rehearsal, etc. Figuring in the amount of my own money I spend, I think I lose money doing it each year.

6. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Nov 1, 2012

Yes, Sizzla, it is.

Once I became a mom, it was simply too large a time committment-- after school every day, with tournaments almost every Saturday from October till March.

7. sizzla_222

sizzla_222 Companion

Nov 1, 2012

Celia, do you enjoy it at least?
    I am a volunteer assistant basketball coach so I know about giving a lot of time for little to no pay. But basketball is something i have always loved and it keeps my basketball dream alive a bit.

8. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

Nov 1, 2012

Of course I love it! If I didn't love it, I wouldn't do it. Honestly, it's my favorite part of my job.

9. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Nov 1, 2012