Any teachers using Audacity or other audio recording?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by catnfiddle, Nov 6, 2008.

1. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Nov 6, 2008

After finishing my first marking period as a Title I teacher, I've finally realized that half the reason my students are having trouble is because they're simply having trouble reading the material. Fortunately, our school has software known as Audacity. I've just started recording lessons for all the teachers in my grade who have "non-readers" in their classes as a supplemental aid. My department chair is ecstatic about this and wants me to record lessons for other grade levels (I have a radio background and am not afraid of listening to my own voice).

Has anyone else found this useful? Does anyone else take advantage of this kind of software? This may be more widely used by Special Education teachers (the teacher who trained me on the software was from our Department of Exceptional Children), but I don't know of anyone else who is recording audio lessons.

3. Emma35

Emma35 Connoisseur

Nov 6, 2008

I use it a lot and I am not special ed. I use it to record the stories that my children write and then I post it om my website.

4. Mrs. Q

Mrs. Q Cohort

Nov 6, 2008

I'm not a teacher yet, but I've been using it for class projects and can absolutely see the potential for a classroom setting. It's very user-friendly, too, which is always a bonus!

5. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Nov 6, 2008

Oh GOOD! I just used it for the first time today and really like it, but I'm still trying to figure out some things. How do you split your recording in half? I have a ten minute for my uploads and my recent recording was way over that.

6. Silmarienne

Silmarienne Cohort

Nov 7, 2008

7. Mommateach

Mommateach Rookie

Nov 7, 2008

Hi
    I don't use the program the way you do, but that gives me ideas. Thank You!