Any suggestions....?

Discussion in 'Job Hunting & Interviews' started by newtothis2006, Jul 29, 2006.

1. newtothis2006

newtothis2006 Rookie

Jul 29, 2006

I am new to the teaching profession...well I am not a teacher yet but would like to be. I have been reading these posts and did not realize that there is so much competition for teaching positions and the difficulty and time it takes to find a job. I was under the impression that teachers are needed so badly and that as long as you have a degree and a teaching certificate, then your hired. Well, now that I know it's not that easy....maybe you guys can offer me some advice. I graduated 3 years ago from college and have been working sales in the lending industry. I have no experience or background in education or working with children. Will it prove to be more difficult for me to find a teaching position coming from the professional realm with no direct experience? Does anyone have any ideas of how I can obtain some experience or skills that would make me more marketable? I do have a full time job while I am working on my certification, so subbing is not a possibility. I am willing to volunteer in schools, church and childrens extracurricular activities if it will "beef" up my resume and allow me to be more marketable as a candidate. Any thoughts/ideas or suggestions? Thanks!

3. mrs.teacher5

mrs.teacher5 Companion

Jul 29, 2006

I think that volunteering does help, but subbing is the best way to get your foot in the door. The principals get to know you and they see how you interact with the children as teacher would. I worked at a daycare for four years and when I got my job they were not interested in that but my subbing experience. They also take into account what grade(s) you student taught in. I know that you work, but perhaps you can sub one day a week.

4. teacher333

teacher333 Devotee

Jul 29, 2006