Any Learning Support Teachers out there? Mainstream question...

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by rookieABC123, Sep 20, 2014.

1. rookieABC123

rookieABC123 Comrade

Sep 20, 2014

I work as a learning support teacher in a middle school. We have 3 learning support teachers in a building with 400 students. Approx. 60 of them have a learning disability IEP. We have 1 LS teacher that is a resource teacher meaning they pretty much never leave their room they stay there and help LS students with tests, etc...Myself and the other LS teacher teach pull out reading and math or we are in a co-taught reading and math class so our schedules are full. I have no time to figure out what is happening in other classrooms esp. with science and social studies. Things seem to be falling apart and I feel our LS kids are falling through the cracks of the system. The material is way over their heads and they learn nothing but get passed on. We have asked admin. to let us create a basic science and basic social studies but no one seems to care. Some of the modified tests the teachers are using have answers narrowed to 2, which I think is ridiculous.

This is our current solution to the problem which we are going to try starting this week: each special ed. teacher will become a "go to" person for each different dept. Meaning I will be the go to for the reading and lang. arts teachers, etc...That way we can each focus on one group of teachers and handle the issues and provide support to those teachers. Also making sure that the material going home such as study guides are simpler and contain less information than what is given to the reg. ed. students. Our teachers send home huge science and social studies packets that our LS kids are supposed to study from. We would like to make that into a 1-2 page study guide for them to study then give them the modified test based on the study guide.