any help for someone in college in this field?

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by mandagap06, May 15, 2008.

1. mandagap06

mandagap06 Devotee

May 15, 2008

Hi! I am a college student at a community college in my area. My major is Special Education all the way! I hope to transfer to a 4yr college in my area after I am done with the basics. I have had about 5 classes total so far 2 of which were remideal(sp?) courses. I work as a sub for elem classes and special needs classes only in my area. I really feel led to work with special needs children but the thought of the IEP's I have heard about and just the stress factor of lesson plans since they are much different with special needs classes, workin with the OT,and just all those involved with the kids scares me a bit. I worked while in Highschool as a "student helper" it was an elective we could take and we helped the teacher and aides any way they needed. Also, we were an extra hand on field trips for them. I have also been to many special olympic events as a helper and Sub. To get to do the 2 things I love most: Teach and be around special needs children is just going to be the best. I have always said I want a job that I can get up in the mornings and be ready and excited to go to work. I have that now and feel I will have that when I graduate also. I love subing. Any tips for while I am in college and when I start would be wonderful! I would be grateful!Thanks !

3. positiveautism

positiveautism Comrade

May 19, 2008

Since you're subbing, you have some idea of what you'll be working with. Your district will also probably assign you a mentor teacher who will help you your first year, or you can seek out another teacher for guidance.

You might also want to consider a private school for children with special needs. You might have less paperwork in this environment.