Any former special ed teachers out there that switched to regular ed?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by rookieABC123, Jun 21, 2013.

1. rookieABC123

rookieABC123 Comrade

Jun 21, 2013

I've been a special education teacher for the past 5 years. I've mostly taught emotional support at the elem. level which has really taken a toll on me emotionally. I'm getting switched to middle school learning support next school year which I was happy to get out of emotional support.
    I'm almost certain however that some reg. ed. positions may come open and that I would have a chance to bid into a regular ed. position at the elementary level...possibly a 1st grade teaching position.

Please give me pros/cons of doing this is if you have ever been a former special education teacher turned reg. ed.
    Thank you!!!

3. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Jun 21, 2013

I've been in Special Ed for the past 7 years. For the past 4, my role has been split, with some Special Ed and some regular classroom. Next year, I won't be doing any Special Ed at all and I'm thrilled about it. I've become increasingly frustrated with the increasing caseloads and decreasing time I had available to work with students. I loved my time in Special Ed and feel that it has made me a better classroom teacher. I'm more aware of the diverse needs of all of my students and have a deeper "toolkit" of strategies to help those who are struggling. First-hand experience with the whole "process" gives me an awareness of what I need to be responsible for as a classroom teacher and when I need to go beyond. It also helps me when speaking with parents about concerns I may have about their children.

I'm very excited to return, full-time, to the regular classroom.

4. donziejo

donziejo Devotee

Jun 21, 2013