Any advice will do! LONG VENT!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by txmomteacher2, Aug 28, 2009.

1. txmomteacher2

txmomteacher2 Enthusiast

Aug 28, 2009

I am going to preface this by saying I am new to the district and the community so I don't want to do anything that would offend anyone BUT....When we had meet the teacher night last week this parent asked for a "meeting" to introduce "herself" more to me. I met her after hours in my classroom. VERY nice lady, in fact she is one of those way to nice parents. You know the one that wants to help ALL the time. In fact she made me homemade bread and brought it to me. She is one of about three that are there every day for lunch. The three of them are very good friends. They don't seem to think that the rules apply to them. The kids are supposed to go to the cafeteria before school. Every morning at least two of them have brought their kids down to the room where I feel obligated to "entertain" them. When I have made the kids take my own daughter down to the cafeteria the parents stay and gab in my classroom. The other one has been late 4 out of the 5 days. One of the boys is VERY smart. In fact I think he could be placed in the next grade if the parent would let him. Well anyway on the 3rd day of class the Mom came in and told me that she wanted harder work for her son. I was very nice and asked her to give me at least a week or so I was still evaluating the class. ( I have some very bright kids and we might just be able to skip ahead to some harder stuff if they will just let me get my head above the first week flood zone) Well this afternoon I informed the whole class that I was pretty tolerant of the rules not being followed to the letter of the law this week. I mean they are after all only first graders and some of them are very young first graders. But I warned them I was going to stop being so nice next week. This student went home told his mom that I was going to stop being so nice and he wanted to