Any 40+ folks here who became teachers 'late' in life??

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by thesub, Sep 14, 2008.

1. thesub

thesub Comrade

Sep 14, 2008

Is there really an age bias in teaching? In central NJ where I live, I see young, blonde teachers being hired in elem. ed but I did see a one 50 yr lady who was hired for middle school math. What is your general opinion?

I am getting the CE in Elem. Ed and then prob. getting another certification in ESL (middle school and high school) and I am 42. By the time, I go thru a teacher prep program and then apply for jobs, I may be 45 at least. Should I even bother applying for any elem.ed jobs??

Do alternate routes count any more for elem.ed and MS/HS ESL?

Thanks so much for any advice.

3. vsimpkins

vsimpkins Comrade

Sep 14, 2008

I made a career change at 37 yr and I taught for 8 years, had to resign due to medical reasons and my emergency expired. I have been subbing for 4 years and still have no job. I am 50 now.

4. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Sep 14, 2008

A teacher at my school is 60 and she has only been teaching for 8 years.

The NJ job market is tough for everyone.

5. thesub

thesub Comrade

Sep 14, 2008

Giraffe326, are the administrators nice to this teacher or 'hinting' to herthat it's time to leave??? The librarian in my child's school turned 60 recently and was telling me that she would get all these hints from Human Resources and in her opinion, she was 'demoted' to the elem. ed school library after spending 30 yrs as a middle school librarian.

Thanks.

6. Malcolm

Malcolm Enthusiast

Sep 14, 2008

I am in my late 50s and this is my second year teaching. Age hasn't been a handicap. In fact, it seems to be an advantage. The school gets maturity and a lifetime of experience for the price of a new teacher.

7. thesub

thesub Comrade

Sep 14, 2008

Malcolm, what do you teach? What level?

Thanks!

8. BerniceBobs

BerniceBobs Comrade

Sep 14, 2008