Another teacher suspended for blogging about her students

Discussion in 'Debate & Marathon Threads Archive' started by catnfiddle, Feb 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Feb 16, 2011

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Feb 16, 2011

To be fair...a lot of what she said is stuff that I've said to my husband about my students. Those were private conversations though, not anything I'd post in a blog.

4. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Feb 16, 2011

That is EXACTLY my point, Caesar. I may say things to my husband or parents (who are retired teachers) as a way to vent. I would NEVER post such negative notions on a blog, Facebook or even here, where I have a degree of anonymity.

5. Mark94544

Mark94544 Companion

Feb 16, 2011

I'm having some trouble with this.

When I first read an article about this today, I absolutely agreed that teachers should not post negative comments about students, co-workers, or parents on a blog. That's common sense, isn't it? A teacher is a "professional" and this kind of blogging doesn't seem very professional, does it?

Sure, we all want to avoid unnecessary controversy, and surely students and parents will argue that it's the teacher's negative attitude and not the students' performance that resulted in bad grades, etc.

But on reflection, I wonder if that's the right attitude?

One key point: there's no indication that this teacher has breached confidentiality by publishing any information that could be used to identify a specific student, parent, teacher, or administrator; but surely some folks are going to assume that specific comments are "about them." (Carly Simon: "You're so vain; you prob'ly think this song is about you....")