Another great superintendent speaks out

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Rainbowbird, Aug 11, 2013.

1. Rainbowbird

Rainbowbird Groupie

Aug 11, 2013

3. Pashtun

Pashtun Fanatic

Aug 11, 2013

Why is she a great superintendent?

How should teachers evaluate whether or not they are effective at their craft?

If as a teacher, I teach multi digit multiplication for 2 months over the course of the year, why is a standardized test on multiplication so wrong?

4. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Aug 11, 2013

It is so refreshing to read things like this. It really makes it feel less like "everyone" is against teachers and the use of common sense.

5. Rainbowbird

Rainbowbird Groupie

Aug 11, 2013

I can't decide if you are serious or if you just like to stir the pot. Or maybe you are teaching in Nirvana and don't read the news to find out what is going on in the rest of the world.

Nobody is saying that all standardized tests are bad. The letter I posted from the super is talking about the entire educational system and testing industry gone awry. The tail is now wagging the dog.

CCSS are being implemented but are far from being complete in most districts. Students haven't learned the material yet, but are being tested on it. And teachers are being evaluated on it. Oh surprise, now the charters and those who seek to cut educational funding for public schools can say that they are failing. :dizzy:

6. Pashtun

Pashtun Fanatic

Aug 11, 2013

Serious.

Wow you didn't answer one of my questions.

7. alioxenfree

alioxenfree Rookie

Aug 11, 2013

Thanks for posting this, Rainbowbird!

Wow! I got so into her blog, I read all the way to her entry at the beginning of last school year. I'm impressed.

8. cheeryteacher

cheeryteacher Enthusiast

Aug 12, 2013