another first day question

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by teachohio, Aug 18, 2007.

1. teachohio

teachohio Rookie

Aug 18, 2007

I've been teaching for 3 years now but this is my first year starting out a school year. (Long crazy drama story) anyway, I was thinking that I've always been told to stand and greet my students at the door on the first day and I know I'm going to have parents wanting to talk to me. My question is this. What do I have the students do when they walk in? Or should I have them line up outside? This is the youngest grade I've ever worked with and I don't think writing directions or something on the board would help.

Thanks!:)

3. autumnpumpkin

autumnpumpkin Rookie

Aug 18, 2007

I put a ziploc bag of playdough on each students desk, as well as a cookie cutter. This has worked great for me. If you look under the Playdough thread (I think it's under grade 1 or grade 2), you will find lots of great ideas. Good luck!)

4. Touchthefuture

Touchthefuture Comrade

Aug 18, 2007

I usually choose 3 helpers from the kids that show up for Meet The Teacher. I have them show the other kids to their desks. Then I have my morning routine up on the projector. You might as well get them used to it on day one. Anyways it will give them instructions on what to do. I plan on having them put supplies away and getting their desks in order. I will also have a glyph or something on their desk that they will not need too much instruction for.

Also, you may need to tell the parent that they can set -up a conference where you can answer any further questions.

5. Teach4kids

Teach4kids Guest

Aug 18, 2007

This is my 1st year teaching. I saw a cute idea where you make a map to their desk and they have to find it. I was also going to make a crossword with each student's name in it. You could also place a baggy with a pencil, eraser, stickers and a small snack and let them explore it. I would love to hear more ideas if you have any!!

6. twincheryl