Another 9-12 ELA question: time period study

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by allaragallagher, Jul 31, 2014.

1. allaragallagher

allaragallagher Comrade

Jul 31, 2014

Hi all,

More questions! I'll be teaching 9th, 11th, and 12th grade this year. I'm a first year teacher. Even though I have experience with 11th and 12th grade, I'm finding planning for these two grades harder than planning for my 9th graders. Probably because with both my 11th and 12th graders I have something I have to follow. For example, my 11th graders will be learning American lit. from Colonialism to Contemporary. To keep from going insane, I decided to use a thematic approach and focus on New England authors and culture. Yay, right? My 12th graders are studying Brit. lit from Anglo Saxons to Contemporary.

Needless to say, even with the skeleton worked out I was getting a little overwhelmed. Then I thought of an idea that could kill two birds with one stone. I could have the students sign up for a time period and research it and make a poster to hang in the class. One side of the class will have the American lit. posters/timeline, and the other will have the Brit. lit projects. Free classroom decorations!

But... I'm not sure how to get them started on a essentially semester long project where one group (or pair) will have such a shorter amount of time than the other groups. Should I have them sign up or randomly assign groups and time periods? To make it fair, I thought it might be our first project and all groups would do their research and create their posters the same week. Then, they will present before we start whatever time period they researched. That way the last pair doesn't have a full semester to do a project that's badass compared to the first groups thrown together one?

Does anyone do this? Do you have a handout I could look at? Is it insane to essentially start with something like this?

3. Mrs. K.

Mrs. K. Enthusiast

Jul 31, 2014