Annual reviews

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by andi137, Oct 8, 2007.

1. andi137

andi137 Companion

Oct 8, 2007

Okay this might sound like a stupid question and I know I should know this but I am not sure. Quick overveiw this is my first year teaching special ed and my degree is in Elementary ed. Anyway we have annual reviews coming up in 2 weeks and I am not sure exactly all that needs to be done. I understand that I review the goals and what not but I am just not sure what else. The person that I am supposed to be working with is not exactly the nicest lady and she likes to make me feel stupid. So if anyone could fill me in that would be wonderful!!! Thanks!

3. bcblue

bcblue Comrade

Oct 8, 2007

Annual review of the IEP involves a meeting with the parents and the IEP team. Each member of the team who services the student (sped tchr, therapists, etc) prepares a written report of the student's overall progress on their goals over the past year, including recommendations for adjustment of the goals or new goals if the goals were met. The result of the meeting is a new IEP to be sent home and signed (timing of this varies a bit by district, I believe by law the IEP must go home for signature w/in 5 days of the meeting).

It seems unusual that all your IEPs be up for annual review at the same time period; perhaps your district also uses this term for something else?

4. Proud2BATeacher

Proud2BATeacher Phenom

Oct 8, 2007

I agree, it will most likely be time to create a new IEP with the IEP team (including the parents). Check to see if you are in charge of scheduling the meeting and inviting the IEP team.