Annoyed...Need a little help.

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by lsho, Dec 2, 2010.

1. lsho

lsho Rookie

Dec 2, 2010

I am a 2nd year teacher (which I count as still being new). This year has been really tough and made me really rethink this career path. I know that is normal though and I know I wouldn't be fufilled with any other job...

But...

The last couple days, I have been SO annoyed with my students that it is hard to even pretend to be nice. I teach 7th grade and this bunch is 1000 times more immature than the group last year and they care so little about being here that they turn in terrible work and refuse to redo it. I literally cannot handle it anymore. I'm really afraid of just snapping on a student one day (verbally, of course).

Any suggestions or advice or helpful stories? Thanks.

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Dec 2, 2010

Many of my students are like this as well. This year I have started having my students complete a form when they don't turn in work. I am not allowing them to turn in terrible or incomplete work. If the work is not acceptable it is not complete, so they fill out a form.

I keep all these forms until the end of the week, then I staple them together and send them home with the student to be signed and returned with work.

I write myself a list of the students who take forms home and cross them off when they come back. If they don't come back, the student makes a phone call to his/her parents to let them know that they are not completing their homework.

Very, very effective for the students with parents who care. For the students whose parents don't care...well, it's one extra piece of evidence to share at grade/conference time...

4. Pisces_Fish

Pisces_Fish Fanatic

Dec 2, 2010

Can you share the form you use?

5. Marvin

Marvin Rookie

Dec 9, 2010