And Here's How I Got A Job!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by NJSocialStudies, Aug 5, 2011.

1. NJSocialStudies

NJSocialStudies Rookie

Aug 5, 2011

So, before you read this, understand one thing. NJ is cutthroat and the weak get eaten alive. This is the most corrupt, nepotistic state in the union. That being said...how did I just land a full-time teaching job teaching Social Studies in a great district in Northern NJ (just signed the contract)?

I Lied! Haha, no, no its not what you're thinking. There are certain things you can't lie about. Your transcripts, GPA, major, certifications, background check, Praxis, etc... All of those things are readily checked upon and you will be caught. Don't do that.

However, I had decided that most people I graduated my certification program with were all pretty well qualified to teach. There was barely anything separating the top half of the class from each other. It made me realize that being part of the pack, even if its a pack full of amazing teachers, is not good enough. So, I made myself stand out in documentation.

Example #1: I have tutored children for the past few years to make ends meet while attending school. I had this listed on my resume under a sub-heading "Activities". I switched this to part of my experience and put it at the top of the list. I stated I started my own tutoring company. Did I? Well, no, not exactly. I had friends that also tutored and we'd give each other referrals. However, there is no way for anyone to "check" whether we filed paperwork to become incorporated, nor would we have to if we were defined by the IRS as a "cash business". Second, there were no questions as to how successful the business was (It earned me enough to not move home to mama) or how many people were employed there (just me!) The interviewers loved the initiative.