An Average Day in Your Class

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by Poodle15, Sep 25, 2012.

1. Poodle15

Poodle15 Companion

Sep 25, 2012

This is my first semester in college and I am only observing a 3rd grade class. I was wondering what your typical day looked like in 3rd grade. I know that right now a lot of you are doing something of a review of 2nd grade stuff to get a feel for the levels of your students, but I was just wondering if you tackle all subjects every day or do you divide them up? Between morning work, homework and vocabulary reviews, specials, lunch and recess, there doesn't seem to be a lot of time to start new stuff. Like I said, I'm only in my first semester so at this point I have NO idea what a typical 3rd grade lesson plan looks like or how long each lesson would last per subject. All I know is what I can vaguely recall from my own days in 3rd grade which are colored by a major move and the death of a parent. Not to mention I'm almost 30, so it's been a little while since then! ;)

P.S. How did I forget how tiny 7 year olds are?!

3. Poodle15

Poodle15 Companion

Sep 30, 2012

I'll take anything at all! Even a general idea of how long one lesson is.

4. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Sep 30, 2012

The mornings are rough because I only have 10 minutes to get students in, take care of any "housekeeping" tasks like announcements, collecting homework, or passing back papers, feed them breakfast, clean up breakfast, and get them to specials. That schedule was obviously not created by a classroom teacher!

The rest of our day looks like this:
    45 minutes- specials
    90 minutes- reading, 30 minutes whole group, 60 minutes guided groups/centers
    30 minutes- science or social studies (we alternate)
    30 minutes- lunch/recess
    60 minutes- writing