AM/PM vs. Full Day Kindergarten

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by Jacqui, Nov 18, 2008.

1. Jacqui

Jacqui Rookie

Nov 18, 2008

I am still a student in ECE, but of course I always think about what year I'd like to teach one day. I'm stuck between kindergarten and first grade, and the biggest reason is one that I'm learning not all schools face. I grew up in PA, where they (used to?) have AM and PM kindergarten, instead of having the same class there all day. Now I live in Georgia (for college), where I'm learning that their kindergarteners go to school all day. I love this idea, and actually decided against kindergarten because I didn't want to spend most of my day preparing my kids to start the day/pack up and go home/etc.

When I was a senior in high school I worked with a kindergarten teacher in our SD and absolutely loved the kids/learning level, but they still split the day. I just remember how she had to end her lessons early on snowy days to put them back into snow suits, etc.

So my question is: how many of you work in a school district that has AM/PM kindergarten, and how many have classes that stay the whole day? If you still have AM/PM kindergarten, how hard is it to get your students packed/unpacked every day? Does it take a lot of time? How many schools actually still do this?

3. little317

little317 Groupie

Nov 18, 2008

FL has had full day Kdg for a long time. I honestly cannot even imagine a half day Kdg with all the expectations there are for these little guys. The day is long for the kids, but if you plan appropriately the day is rather exciting.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Nov 18, 2008

Around here, it depends on the district. Mine daughter attends full day, the one a mile away is half day.

But beware: the changes in the economy may mean that a lot of schools cut back to half day. It most certainly would save a lot of money, since you could teach the same number of kids with only half the kindergarten teachers.