Am I "Safe"?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by daisycakes, Feb 10, 2015.

1. daisycakes

daisycakes Companion

Feb 10, 2015

I am in my first year in a new district. I have not been evaluated all year. According to district timeline, I should have had several evaluation meetings and 2 out of 3 observations/evaluations. However, no one has talked to me or come to see me at all. I brought this up with my P 3 weeks ago and she agreed but has taken no action. I asked her if I was coming back next year because not being evaluated makes me nervous. She said yes. She also has made some plans for me during the summer.

However, recently, we have been having disagreements about how much unpaid work I am going to do during the summer (I wrote on this board about it). She wanted me to go to a conference when I had plans. Now I feel nervous about not being renewed because she seems minorly displeased with me (making faces when I ask questions, etc.). My boyfriend says that I am paranoid and if they wanted to nonrenew me, they would be in my classroom building a case against me.

What do you think? I don't want to bring it up again because I think they feel I am a nag. My district coordinator wants me to contact the union but that seems like it would just make them mad when no problem exists yet. Like, if they do decide to nonrenew me, I should complain at that point because my evaluation timeline was not followed at all, but why preemptively complain? The other specials teacher has also not been evaluated. What do you think of all this?

3. mariecurie

mariecurie Companion

Feb 10, 2015

It depends on how tenure works in your state. If you're not tenured, your rights are limited and they can let you go for any reason without documentation.

I would lay low, and wait and see if you're renewed. In my experience, making any sort of fuss makes the situation worse.

4. bartleby

bartleby Rookie

Feb 10, 2015