Am I prepared to be competitive in the job market?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by MrJC, Jul 17, 2015.

1. MrJC

MrJC Rookie

Jul 17, 2015

Hi, all!

I'm a bit concerned about my competitiveness when I apply for teaching positions in South Florida. I've been reading through the job seeker forum and I'm a bit anxious about being able to compete for positions.

Currently I'm a student, but I'm a few semesters away from graduation and I'm bracing myself for getting out into the market. I'm a Liberal Studies major with courses mainly in English and literature, and in the Social Sciences, so that I can prepare for certification in English and Social Studies. I started college off on the wrong foot, did very, very poorly, and then took some time away from it; since I returned, I've done excellently, but I'm concerned about the preceding period and how administrators would view that.

I've been a tutor with Tutor . com for over a year now, but previous to that, no real experience in education other than helping to teach debate in high school (something that helped propel me in the direction of teaching). Previous jobs included security work and charity fundraising, things not directly related to education. I'm also not an education major, so I can't really do student teaching at university (and have a heavy course load for these last few semesters in any case).

I'm doing everything I can to develop a teaching portfolio that really stands out, with transcripts of student sessions, material I've tutored, assessments from supervisors, etc. Everything to send the message that I'm passionate about my subject matter, that I know my stuff, and that I want to be the best teacher I can be.

I'm concerned about jumping out in the job market after wrapping up my B.A. and finishing the certification process, so:

How can I stand out? Is anyone familiar with the South Florida teacher job market? How would someone with my background look to principals looking for new hires?