Am I over my head? -Buying a home?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by VANewbie, Feb 28, 2011.

1. VANewbie

VANewbie Devotee

Feb 28, 2011

I am a 2nd year teacher and still have tons of loans to pay off. I am single with no kids but I am considering buying my first townhouse.
    I am in my upper 20s and just think its something I need to start thinking about.

Here is the negative side-
    I do not have a lot of money saved up(so no down payment)
    and I do have a lot left to pay in student loans.

Is this a bad idea? Do people do this in my situation or can they do this in my situation?

Any advice for me?
    I know the obvious answer is I need to save up money and wait but can it be done without doing that? I do have family members who maybe able to help me with a downpayment if I needed it.

3. donziejo

donziejo Devotee

Feb 28, 2011

Google Suze Orman, she has a formula and some excellent ideas on this subject. Good Luck.

4. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Feb 28, 2011

First of all congrats on making this big decision. Now from watching Suze Orman's show a lot, she'd probably say, "DENIED" if you asked if you could afford it, but I personally wish you all the best. I wish I was a homeowner! Maybe with a bit more saving up, not now, but very soon, you WILL! :)

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Feb 28, 2011

There's a lot of good bargains on the market. Not sure if the first time home buyer tax credit is still available, but look into that. Dh and I bought our first home when we were in our 20s YEARS ago and the interest rates were MUCH higher than they are now...it's worth having your numbers run to see what kind of mortgage you could qualify for...

6. INteacher

INteacher Aficionado

Feb 28, 2011