Am I not being professional enough?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by adversary, Nov 11, 2009.

1. adversary

adversary Rookie

Nov 11, 2009

Hey everyone,

I am an aspiring teacher who is fortunate enough to be hired as a paraprofessional at a high school right now for the 2009-2010 school year. I have been on the job for a little over 2 months now and am wondering about what I should do when it comes to certain situations. I connect with the students I help, and I think the reason why I connect with them so well is because I look young (I'm 23); the kids all thought I was still in high school. I believe that they don't really see me as an adult, but as someone the school hired that is "awesome." Anyway, I consider myself a very warm and friendly person with a lot of patience and I guess because of this also, the kids are very comfortable around me; we joke around and such.

But sometimes, they ask me questions that are inappropriate like if I have smoked marijuana before, etc. Has this ever happened to you guys? What do you guys do? I mean obviously, I should make something up but I'm a horrible liar. The moment I lie, I start to smirk.

Is it also okay to joke around (as long as it's appropriate)?

I don't want to give you guys the impression that I'm not doing my job. As far as I know, the teachers and other paraprofessionals tell me I'm doing a great job; it's just these particular moments that I question myself if my actions are "professional" enough.

Hopefully, this makes sense. If not, I'll rephrase it.

3. Hoot Owl

Hoot Owl Aficionado

Nov 12, 2009

Good morning adversary, and welcome to A-Z forum.

It's great to have a strong relationship with the kids but when they ask you personal questions you just tell them you prefer to keep your personal life personal. Of course there's some things you don't mind sharing but you don't want to make any trouble for yourself.