Am I missing something? (Salary)

Discussion in 'General Education' started by KinderWonder, Nov 1, 2009.

1. KinderWonder

KinderWonder Rookie

Nov 1, 2009

I have been looking into becoming a teacher and I am currently a freshman in college. I decided to be a Nurse because of the pay, not because I wanted to be a Nurse. Now I have decided that I want to have a job that I will love, but still bring home the bacon. Money is not a huge factor to me anymore, but I still want to survive. I know everyone says that teachers don't make a lot of money, but I don't really see it.

The county that I would be working in has a salary of $37,300 (for a bachelors degree and 0-1 years of experience), working 196 days a year and 7.33 hours a day. I realize that teachers do spend more than 7.33 hours a day working (doing lesson plans on weekends and such), however, there are a lot of careers that have people working on their time off and they are not getting paid for it.

So, if one would make $37,300 for working 196 days 7.33 hours a day. That would mean they would make $25.96/hour. Therefore, if they worked 7.33 hours a day five days a week, in a week they would make $951.43. If they made $951.43 a week then in a month they would make $3,805.74 (of course this is without taxes being removed).

Still I'm not sure why teachers feel they do not get paid enough, to me this is plenty to live on for a month. Is it because teachers are out of a job over the summer? Am I wrong in the way they get paid? What am I missing?

Thanks in advance to any help I receive. I am not trying to be rude, I am just trying to understand.:)

3. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Nov 1, 2009