Am I having the wrong mindset??

Discussion in 'General Education' started by AdamnJakesMommy, Mar 4, 2015.

1. AdamnJakesMommy

AdamnJakesMommy Habitué

Mar 4, 2015

So I'm really a trained social studies teacher, teaching math/science because of passing the praxis. I approach teaching science a lot like I would social studies. This past unit was on protists, so just like social studies this was informational (as opposed to math which is obviously an application). My test was quiz was mixed: multiple choice, fill in the blank, and short answer. My kids took notes, did classroom activities, etc. but I had about 1/4 fail this quiz---and it was EASY compared to how hard I could've made it. I figured it would be an easy A for most of them. Boy, was I wrong. And I KNOW the reason is because they didn't study.

Is it wrong of me to expect students this age to actually study for a quiz? I don't want to give open-note quizzes. And I don't want to allow them to do corrections. I feel like they should be held accountable for retaining the information. Would you let them do corrections? With science, I feel you either or know it or you don't. I will allow them to do extra credit at the end of the 9 weeks to boost their grades, but I am going to make them work for it of course. This is the second assessment I've given this 9 weeks were it is ostensibly clear that they did NOT study. Had they studied, the average would've been much higher.

It just floors me that these kids perform much better in math than they do science. It's like they don't take science seriously, AT ALL. They just blow off the quizzes and tests and settle for Cs and Ds in the course, while they have As and Bs in math.

I feel like I'm in the twilight zone, it has always been my experience that I had to work my tail off for math, and science (protists unit) was always a breeze because it's informational.

3. Koriemo

Koriemo Comrade

Mar 4, 2015