Am I cut out for this?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ReneeZ, May 21, 2015.

1. ReneeZ

ReneeZ New Member

May 21, 2015

Hi everyone,

I'm new here, and this is my first post. I came here in search of some help and/or answers. I've been teaching high school for five years, and as I close out another year, I'm wondering if I should continue with this career. You see, I'm a timid, friendly person. I don't like being stern. I don't know how to gain the respect of my students. They run all over me. I leave work everyday almost in tears. My students ignore me for the most part. They carry on their own conversations, walk around the room, throw paper balls, etc. I ask repeatedly for order, but I have to raise my voice (not yell, just talk as loudly as I can) in order to be heard. They barely acknowledge me. I'm so frustrated. The students that actually want to learn can hardly hear me, so they give up and go to sleep. It's a nightmare. I know I need consequences, but how can I punish the entire classroom? I need help to get my students to show me some respect like they do their other teachers. I've tried waiting for them to get quiet before continuing. That was a joke. I've tried giving additional work to the whole class, but the quiet ones complain and the loud ones simply don't do it. Some of my classes are just taking notes, so the loud ones just grab someone's work and copy real fast right before the bell rings (and then fail the tests). I know I need to change that too. Am I just too soft for this profession? Is there some book I can read to help me? I've read first days of school, and it has great tips for management. I just don't know. There is so much wrong with the whole situation. Anyone have any words of encouragement or suggestions? HELP PLEASE.

Frustrated teacher

3. orangetea

orangetea Connoisseur

May 21, 2015

What type of school do you teach in? Have you thought of working in a different setting?

4. Koriemo

Koriemo Comrade

May 21, 2015