Am I a Bad teacher?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Toast, Mar 10, 2014.

1. Toast

Toast Companion

Mar 10, 2014

Hello fellow teachers. I am seeking some insight from others who may have been in my shoes.

I am coming to the sad realization that I might be a "bad" teacher. I've been teaching elementary school for 6 years, grades 3, 4 and 5. I've also taught at 2 different schools.

Early in my career I received a lot of praise from my administrators as well as parents at what a wonderful and strong teacher I was. I believed it, felt good about myself and loved my job.

A couple of years later I started looking more closely at my "data". On standardized tests and district benchmarks, my students usually scored lower than their peers in other classes. This has been ongoing with every class I've had for the past 4 years. My scores haven't been horrible, but not as good as I would like and not as high as the students in neighboring classes.

Something else that still haunts me till this day: 2 years ago, four of my prior students were retained. These were students in the classes of 2 different teachers and 2 different grade levels.

I feel like teachers in the grade above me blame me for students arriving unprepared for their class (where they assign a million worksheets instead of engaging projects).

I also don't grade every single assignment I hand out. Some of it gets recycled because I would spend the rest of my life grading if I graded all of it.

I truly care about my students and try to give engaging lessons that peak student interest. I do teach to my state standards.

I'm not showing movies all day and I am actually putting in effort into my lessons.

My classroom management could be more on the strict side...

I've been considering leaving the profession because I no longer feel as if I am "good" at it.