Always planning the night before??

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by 773 Miles Away, Sep 14, 2008.

1. 773 Miles Away

773 Miles Away Comrade

Sep 14, 2008

Normally I would post this in the New Teachers forum.. but i'm looking for insight from veteran teachers.

This is my first year teaching and I am always planning my lessons the night before. I can't really figure out a way to prevent this! Often my plan for the day is close to what i wrote down but often I need to base what i do the next day on what we actually covered on the current day - hence needing to sit down at the end of the day to start planning what needs to come next.

Is this just typical of my first year or is this just how it is in general?

3. teacherpippi

teacherpippi Habitué

Sep 14, 2008

I think that as the year goes on, you have a better sense of what your students will be able to cover. You become familiar with your curriculum. It does get easier with time.

Each year, I have an adjustment period with a new group of students.

I plan by the week. My plans are fluid- if I don't get something done one day, I just push it to the next day and put an arrow in my planner. If they get through things quickly, I start on things we'd cover the next day or do some review things.

4. Yank7

Yank7 Habitué

Sep 14, 2008

I usually plan for a full week and then modify my plans after school as needed for the next day. There are times when I find it difficult to plan every time for the next day starting from scratch. It should get easier as you become more familiar with your class and the curriculum.

5. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Sep 14, 2008

I usually plan units at a time. So, reading typically gets planned on Thursday or Friday for the upcoming week. When it comes to math and science, I am usually planned for at least 2 weeks. Social studies is the only one where I may plan the night before.

Try planning 1 subject at a time. I think it helps. I always plan all the way to my test.