Alternative teacher certification programs?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by saltyd, Apr 27, 2013.

1. saltyd

saltyd New Member

Apr 27, 2013

I have one semester left of my grad program in journalism, and I don't feel it's worth it to finish it. I would rather spend the time getting certified to teach high school Spanish or social studies.

I've looked into a lot of the alternative teacher certification programs and most of the people haven't had positive things to say about them. They seem like they're very corporate-driven and take a really authoritarian approach to behavior management. But I really don't have the time to go back to get another master's and I'd like to start teaching as soon as possible. I'm willing to move to another state that has less stringent requirements.

Does anyone have experience with these programs?

3. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Apr 27, 2013

I have no experience with them, but in most areas, people with alternate certification find it far more difficult to get a position than those that went a traditional route. The education market is mostly over-saturated, so schools have their pick of applicants.

If you choose to go an alternate route, you will want to go with Spanish. Social Studies is one of the hardest areas to get a job in.

4. HorseLover

HorseLover Comrade

Apr 27, 2013

I agree; going an alternative route could make it harder to find a job (though not impossible).

As for going to a state with lower standards. Not sure what you meant by that, but if you are talking about the requirements to become a teacher, I would say that, in my opinion, it is best to become licensed in a state with the strictest standards because then you will be more marketable to other states (i.e. both the strict and not so strict).

Just some thoughts. Hope whatever you choose works out great for you! :thumb:

5. Eurydike

Eurydike Rookie

Apr 28, 2013

What about a program through a university?

6. Missy

Missy Aficionado