Alternative Certification vs. Post-Baccalaureate

Discussion in 'General Education' started by SiriusBlack, Mar 28, 2011.

1. SiriusBlack

SiriusBlack New Member

Mar 28, 2011

Hi,
    This is my first post here.

Anyway, I am actually a grad student who is close to finishing a Theatre related MA. I have a Theatre BA also and have come to realize that I have made a terrible, terrible choice and that people in their early 20s are too young to make permanent career choices.

I can even plunge further down the academic spiral and get more in-debt and waste 10 years of my life getting a PhD in a field which will be almost impossible to find a job in, or I can learn something practical.

I've thought about learning Computer Science, but that would take years. Getting certified to teach grades 8-12 seems like a more reasonable option.

I can either go to a Post-Bacculaurate program and spend about 2 -2 1/2 years (would be 1 and a 1/2 years, but I have a lot of undergrad courses in Social Studies that the university wants me to take), plus tens of thousands of dollars, or I can go to an alternative teacher certification program like Texas Teachers Alternative Certification (board won't let me post links so google it).

I have my doubts about the alternative teacher certification programs like that, does anyone have any experience? I know they are accredited, but still I am cautious.

I know the high school teaching market is tough also, but it can't compare to how hard the college professor job market is.

3. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

Mar 28, 2011

My advice (from someone who knows) is do what you are passionate about. I did the opposite of you - I was too practical as a teen and young adult, and I didn't pursue the world of academia because I thought it was impractical - I thought I should have something that led to a job. Now I am 30 and going back to school. It's not a waste if it is something you want and are passionate about.