Alternative Certification, VS Masters VS second bachelors - Need advice

Discussion in 'General Education' started by alwayslearning2, Jul 16, 2014.

1. alwayslearning2

alwayslearning2 New Member

Jul 16, 2014

Hi there!
    I just need some perspective from current/experienced teachers about the marketability of different certification programs, as I am looking into ways to finish certification. I have my bachelors degree in Social Sciences, but also took 40+ credits in Elementary Education. So, my plan is to get certified in Elementary Education, but am also looking into ESE and middle grades science and/or math. My problem is choosing a program! My current situation requires that I do much of it online (besides practicum/student teaching) so that's what I'm looking at. All in all, I am looking for a program that will result in higher chances of me being able to find a job as a new teacher. Here is what I am currently considering:

1: TeacherReady (U of West FL)- an online alternative certification. I can get certified multiple areas (elem ed, middle math, science, ESE). It only takes 9 months and all of the classes are online. There is field experience during the whole program, but only a week of full-time teaching. I would get full FL teacher certification (5-year renewable). I'm just not sure how marketable this would be during job interviews as I would be competing against other new teachers who went the tradition route with 12+ weeks of student teaching and education credits (although I do have lots of those).

2: Masters or Post-Bac Program through WGU: An online University, student teaching is in my local schools. This is 3 times the cost, and takes 2 or more years, but I would come out with a Masters and certification. It includes 12-20 weeks of student teaching, depending on the state. I don't think I can get certified in more than one area though. But I want to get a Masters some time anyway. However, I was thinking more in the future.