Alternative Certification Program in Texas

Discussion in 'General Education' started by latinomanz, Jun 28, 2020.

1. latinomanz

latinomanz Rookie

Jun 28, 2020

Hello,

I am doing an ACP with ECAP in Texas to be certified in Spanish but I live in NY, I already have my intern certificate and I have a Bachelor's Degree in Spanish and a Master's Degree in Spanish and I am getting my PhD in Spanish and I am a native Spanish speaker. No previous teaching experience though.

My question is, how the HELL does one go about getting a job as a Spanish teacher??? I have applied to over 40 ISD's in Dallas and Houston area and now applying in San Antonio and Corpus Christi areas, I have had like 12 interviews in the past 1-2 weeks and I have done well on those interviews or so I think but still NO OFFER yet. I read on the forums that getting a job as a teacher was not that hard and people got an offer after applying to like 8 ISD's but according to my experience unless I have 10 years of previous teaching experience and a BA in Education or I have contacts I ain't going nowhere or maybe those who mentioned that they got an offer after applying to like 8 ISD's only were people from the ACP themselves so that people would sign up for their programs.

Any advice?

Thanks.

3. CaliforniaRPCV

CaliforniaRPCV Companion

Jun 28, 2020

Keep looking and have patience?
    I think 1to 2 weeks is a very short timeframe post interview. Anybody strongly disagree or have contrary experience?

4. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Jun 28, 2020