Alternative Certification Candidates

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Genmai, Jul 29, 2009.

1. Genmai

Genmai Companion

Jul 29, 2009

I've been looking for a teaching job in NJ since filing my certification papers and haven't heard back from anyone yet. I am brand new in the teaching profession - I have no education background and no teaching experience. I am wondering if this is a strike against me.

Often, alt cert folks go through a alt cert program and get pre-service training over the summer so they have some training, however superficial. I don't have anything like this. I've spammed resumes to nearly every school within practical driving distance so far, and I have gotten no response.

Are principals even working right now NJ? Do they hire so late? What else could I do? Any advice would be much appreciated.

:help:

3. roseteacher12

roseteacher12 Habitué

Jul 29, 2009

my BF is also alt. route for social studies and have yet to hear anything either. however I am not alt route and have some exprience and I havent heard anything either!! (we're in NJ too by the way) I think NJ is just wayyyyy oversaturated with teachers right now and not even positions unfortuntely..

4. heymiss

heymiss Comrade

Jul 29, 2009

I'm also a brand new alternative cert. teacher, with no teaching experience to speak of except for a couple days of subbing last year.

I'm in Texas, and I've gotten several interviews (2 with the district I most want, and a couple of charter schools that I ended up not liking) by spamming schools with my resume. At first, I was afraid I'd wasted $100 mailing my stuff out because I didn't hear anything for WEEKS.

Unfortunately, I must suck at being interviewed (I have since bought a couple of books and realize how stupid I must have sounded!) because none of those jobs has panned out for me.