Alternative Certficiation Teacher

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Ms. Gray, Jul 11, 2017.

1. Ms. Gray

Ms. Gray Guest

Jul 11, 2017

Hi everyone,

I graduated in April 2017 and have taken a job in staffing. I love my boss and my job, but I don't see this as my "career" and I want to do something more meaningful with my work. I got my Bachelor's in Communication, but I've always wanted to teach. (I picked my major based on having credits done in that area, so I could graduate sooner) Anyway, I am planning on taking my subject area exam in Septemeber and that should make me eligible for a temp. certificate (in Florida). My goal is to teach the 2018-2019 year. I just wanted to get other's opinions on coming into teaching with a non-education degree. Also, how did your interviews go? Any advice on the subject would be great. I feel discouraged because I don't have tangible teaching experience to talk about in an interview besides working in my mom's classrooms my whole life. Any advice on taking the SAE would be great. I want to teach upper elementary school or ESE.

Thanks in advanced!!

3. Caramac48

Caramac48 Rookie

Jul 11, 2017

I was in your position last year. I highly recommend substitute teaching while you work towards passing your SAE exam. Subbing actually helped me land my fourth grade job! If you live near Orlando, a Tampa or Miami you will have no problems finding sub jobs. I subbed in both Lake and Polk County and was able to work every day with no issues. Check with your local district to see if they hire directly or use Kelly educational staffing.